Tags

, , , , ,

which just goes to show that if you have no idea about the science of baking, don’t fiddle with the recipe,

I made a chocolate cake, I thought it would make a change from coffee and walnut, and although it was very nice, it was too much, it seemed never ending, in fact I threw the last couple of pieces away because they’d been knocking about for a week and neither of us fancied it.

I used this recipe: Chocolate cake with the addition of a tsp of baking powder, this made sponge lovely and light, but it did fall apart a bit, which just goes to show that if you have no idea about the science of baking, don’t fiddle with the recipe, that said, it did heat up and turn into a great pudding substitute and as well as the icing in the recipe, I covered the top in a ganache icing too..

cake2

I’m glad I made it, but I wont make it again, it really was far too rich, but I am tempted to make a melting middle pudding with the recipe.

While I was faffing about with the cake I also made a casserole from the boar I’d bought before Christmas from Lidl,

I just fried it in, added onions, mushrooms, bay leaf, black pepper, red wine and some water and put it in the oven for 3 hours on low, when it was cooked I thickened up the gravy with some corn flour

boar

and served it with green beans.

with greenbns

and some dauphinoise potatoes

dauph2

I used creme fraiche in these.

dauph

I really enjoyed this, it wasn’t as gamey as I had thought, which was a good thing because I was worried it might be..

boarc

Sadly they don’t sell it anymore, I must source somewhere on line that does..

boar1

oh and here is a gratuitous picture of breakfast the next day

Emmental and streaky bacon croissants

croissants

