Tags

, , , , , ,

I wasn’t going to blog this initially but as I started cooking I decided to take some pics just in case and I’m glad I did because it turned out to be a big hit

The day after our anniversary dinner I looked in the fridge to see what there was, and there really wasn’t very much at all, Mr 5 didn’t know if he was hungry or not, so I decided to cobble together something with rice and then if he wanted it he could have it and if he didn’t, it didn’t matter..

Initially I was going to go vegetarian with this, but half way through cooking it, Mr 5 decided he was hungry after all, so I bulked it out with some cooked chicken I had in the freezer, I had bought it for the dog while he was convalescing a few months ago, there was only a handful and it needed using up..

I wasn’t going to blog this but as I started cooking I decided to take some pics just in case and I’m glad I did because it turned out to be a big hit, it’s not far different to my signature rice dish, just a bit drier..

Biryani risotto:

I chucked some panch phoran into a pan and sauted of some onions, potatoes, mushrooms and peppers

spices

to that I added some washed basmati rice and some curry powder, dried coriander and ground cumin.

rice

cooked it for a few minutes and then added some water, less is better otherwise it’ll be too soggy.

water

I let it simmer until the rice was almost cooked and the water was absorbed

cook

then I added peas, the chicken and some tomatoes

chix peas

mixed that through and made sure the peas were cooked and served it with hard boiled egg

with egg

it was really lovely, not too strong in flavour nor heat, a really lovely comfort dinner actually.

risotto curry

I had half a bag on mini poppadums that needed using up and also added a little lime pickle and mango chutney

with pops

