Tags

, , ,

turning it over for a short while to crispy up the top with the juices that oozed out..

I made this ages ago, I just found the pics in my ‘To do food’ folder and forgot that in was in holding to be blogged, I made this last month I think, I had a piece of filet in the freezer and was at a loss as to what to do with it, it’s similar to theBeef Wellington rolls, except I made up a 6oz flour/2oz suet pastry for it, despite it being almost duplicate I’ll blog it anyway.

Suet pastry beef roll:

I used suet pastry for this because apart from the fact I like it, it’s the easiest pastry to make, you don’t need to rub in the suet so it takes minutes..

suet beef wellington

I made the pastry and left it to rest while I made a mushroom duxelle, I left the stuffing to cool a bit first then put it in the middle of the pastry

mush duxelle

Put the fillet on top

meat on mush

Rolled it up and brushed it with milk, only because I didn’t have an egg.

brush milk

Then I baked it in a hot oven until it looked like that, turning it over for a short while to crispy up the top with the juices that oozed out..

baked

cut it in half

bake

and served it with potatoes and veg..

beef wellington

I enjoyed it, but I am a fan of suet pastry..

