Tags

, , , , , , , ,

but that’s not the point is it, it doesn’t matter what it looks like, it matters that you made it yourself..

The other day my friend said he was making pizza with his kids and did I have a recipe, so I gave him Paul Hollywoods pizza one

For the pizza dough
250g/9oz strong white flour, plus extra for flouring
5g/¼oz salt
30ml/1fl oz olive oil
5g/¼oz fast-action yeast
180ml/6fl oz water
semolina, for dusting (optional)

and asked him to text me the pictures if he wouldn’t mind..

I love these pizzas, I particularly like the stuffed crust one that his 7 year old made, I think that shows initiative, they won’t win any prizes for being round, but that’s not the point is it, it doesn’t matter what it looks like, it matters that you made it yourself and it’s never to early to start learning to cook.

pizza 1

pizza 2

pizza 3


Chicken fougasse pizza:

Taking inspiration from that, the next day I decided to make a fougasse pizza, I had some chicken that needed using up, so I just cooked it off with some peppers, Moroccan seasoning and a1/4 can of Heinz of lentil soup, the rest of which I added to something else later in the week.
I made the dough from the recipe on the back of the flour bag

400 grams Strong White Bread Flour
7 grams Easy Bake Yeast
175 ml Hot Water
75 ml Olive Oil

I left the dough to rise all afternoon and then after I’d knocked it back, I made both a pizza and a fougasse, I put the chicken mix on top and baked it in the oven

lamachun

Very similar to the Lahmacun I’ve made, and also the pide

with feta

I topped it with crumbled feta cheese and it was gorgeous, I had a bit left over which I had cold for lunch and it was just as nice..

chicken lamachun

I can’t remember what we had the fougasse with, if It ever comes to me, I’ll blog it..

fougasse

While I was making the dough I decided to whip up a lemon drizzle cake.

lemon Sunk:

using this Mary Berry recipe

I added some caraway and fennel seeds too, just to give it a bit of oomph, I wish I hadn’t bothered, it sank, I don’t know why, I have read the comment section in the recipe, I wasn’t the only person whose sank.

sunken lemon

I don’t really care why it sank, I don’t even care that it didn’t taste much of lemon, I know I wont be making that recipe again though

lemon sank

I didn’t bother with the drizzle bit

lemon cake

We ate a bit of it and then I chucked it out, I might make another one again, but as Mr 5 said, why did you make that anyway, it’s not like we are particularly fond of lemon drizzle cake, and he’s right, next time I’ll make a seed cake..

