Tags

, , , , , , , ,

it didn’t turn out quite how I wanted it to…… nevertheless it was a success in it’s own right and gives me an excuse to remake it.

I decided to use the pizza dough recipe I’d given my friend and make something I’d thought of a while ago, almost two years ago I made a pizza loaf, which was really very nice indeed and I thought I’d see how it would work with a dry chilli mince, it didn’t turn out quite how I wanted it to, that was my fault for adding a can of kidney beans in chilli sauce to the dry mince, I should have washed the sauce off to keep the mince dry but then that would have been a waste of sauce so it was a bit wetter than I’d have like, nevertheless it was a success in it’s own right and gives me an excuse to remake it.

Chilli pizza loaf:

I made the dough and left it to do it’s thing all afternoon, I knocked it back, stuck it to one side and made the chilli

pizza loaf prep

I decided that half the dough would be sufficient and while the chilli was cooking I made a sort fruit bread couronne using the roll together and twist method..

fruit bread3

I forgot to take a picture of it raw, but after brushing it with egg wash and baking it, it looked like this

fruit bread ring

I drizzled it with some glacé icing

fruit bread 1

and put it aside for later and breakfast

fruit bread 1

After the chilli had cooled down and unlikely to make the dough too soggy I packed it into a loaf tin interleaved with mozzarella and the mince

with mozz

and I baked it for about half an hour then I took it out of the tin and put it back for about 15 minutes or so, until it looked like this

loaf

I was quite pleased it held together as well as it did

pizza loaf 3

I served it with some mashed avocado, salsa and salad

with avo

I really liked it

chilli loaf 2

but as I said, not quite what I had in mind

chilli loaf

