Tags

, , , , , , ,

then I left it sitting in it’s stock until the following day because I couldn’t be bothered to do anything with it, I think that probably improved it actually.

If I remember rightly I first saw this recipe for Welsh lamb Cawl on Jamie and Jimmy’s Friday night feast, I can’t recall who they made it for, possibly some Welsh actor, anyway I put it on my to do list and tried to remember to buy some lamb for it, a little while later I’m sure they did it on country file and the woman doing it said that traditionally it wasn’t lamb, but either ham or just vegetables, so when I saw a gammon shank in Morrisons I bought it and thought I’d make it with that.

So this is my version of

Welsh ham cawl:

(cawl meaning soup in Welsh)

I removed the skin and put the shank in water, stuck it in the oven on low for the afternoon and baked the skin to crackling, then I left it sitting in it’s stock until the following day because I couldn’t be bothered to do anything with it, I think that probably improved it actually.

gammon shank

I stripped it from the bone and put it into a casserole with some diced carrot, swede,leek and half a packet of dried peas I found lurking in the back of the cupboard from the pea and ham soup I made ages ago, I soaked them over night first.

veg

I covered it half with the cooking stock and half with cold water and simmered it all afternoon

add veg

until it looked like this

simmer

I made some rye, spelt and creme fraiche soda bread

soda bread

and served it with the cawl

ham cawl

I garnished it with the crackling

with crackling

and some slightly over done parsnip crisps

with parsnip

I have to say, it was totally delicious.

ham cawl2

Certainly going to try that again with lamb..

ham soup

