Tags

, , , , , ,

and topped it up with half a packet mix of Colemans beef Bourguignon mix and a liter of water, never be afraid to use a packet mix, they are great for things like this.

This last week has been a week of soups, or so it seems; actually that should say the week before last has, seeing as it’s taken me so long to get round to finishing this post, It was last week when I drafted it, Mostly I’ve been making the most of the weather in my spare time and dragging woofboy out on epic scampers, although to be fair he’ll be 12 in a couple of weeks and I’m trying not to over do it for him, he’s not getting any younger.
We don’t celebrate Easter but as it was a long weekend and this forerib of beef was on offer in Tesco

rib

I bought it and we had roast beef on Good Friday.

beef 1

It was very nice

beef 2

as I had quite a bit left over I decided to use it up in a sort of broth thing on the Tuesday along with a few leftover veggies.

So this is

Beef Bourguignon Broth with baked dumpling:

I cooked off some onions, carrot and button mushrooms, then added the diced beef

add beef

and topped it up with half a packet mix of Colemans beef Bourguignon mix and a liter of water, never be afraid to use a packet mix, they are great for things like this.

add pkt mix

I left it to simmered it until it began to thicken, then added some red wine and left it while I made dumplings.

I used 4oz S.R flour and 2oz suet.
I steamed them in the oven for 10 minutes first, as I don’t have a steamer I had to improvise.

steam

Then I took them out and put them on a greased baking tray and baked them for another 10 minutes..

dumplings crisp

When they were done and the broth was, well brothy

broth 3

I floated them on top

broth 2

I have to say, this was gorgeous, certainly a different idea for using up the Sunday roast left overs.

broth 3

