Tags

, , , , , ,

so dinner as you probably tell by both the content and photo wasn’t quite up to my usual standard, but it was roast chicken which counts for a lot in the taste stakes.

So this is another leftover roast soup, talking of leftovers, check out Creative Economy in the Kitchen for some more beef leftover ideas.

I think I roasted half of a chicken on Easter Sunday, the meal was also half hearted, I really couldn’t be bothered, I’d had a ‘day off’ by which I mean I just lounged on the settee watching telly while mr 5, who has been sleeping for England lately snored from his bed, so dinner as you probably tell by both the content and photo wasn’t quite up to my usual standard, but it was roast chicken which counts for a lot in the taste stakes.

roast chicken

I did make an effort and put a handful of watercress on it..

The following evening I decided to use the left over chicken in a fajita soup, Mr 5 still has the appetite of a gnat which is why half a bird was enough for both of us with some to spare but seems to eat more if it’s either a soup or has a Mexican theme, so

Leftover Roast chicken fajita soup:

ticked all the boxes.

soup prep

I sweated off the peppers and onion

cook peppers

added the seasoning mix, cooked that out for a minute or so and then added the chicken

add chicken

gave that a good mix together, added some water, herbs and tomatoes

herbs and toms

and then simmered it

cook out

until it had thickened slightly, then I added some cream that was leftover in the fridge

with cream

and topped it off with some nachos

with chips

It was delicious, really enjoyed it, Mr 5 ate it all as I had hoped.

cornchips

