Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I’d bought some umami, it was on the reduced shelf in Tesco and I’d recently heard of it so I got it, I’m not sure I have an opinion of it yet, and used that as my seasoning.

I wasn’t going to blog either of these, which is why I didn’t take any initial photos, but they started to look so I good I thought I’d share them..

Both are in essence fish risottos, I used my usual method of cooking both, which can be found here, one uses Arborio rice and varies bits and bobs of seafood I had leftover in the freezer which wasn’t really enough for anything much, the other, a variation of the chicken biryani risotto I did a while ago, another one I wasn’t going to blog but turned out really nice after all..

Mock paella:

I called it this because it sounded quite fancy when I was thinking of a tweet hash tag, #MockPaella: since discovering twitter as the other me I’ve taken to tweeting the dinners that don’t make the grade for my blog, which is becoming more often than not these days, I don’t seem to have the time to sit down and do this like I used to.

prawn rice

Once I’d started to add the liquid to the rice, in this case water because I had no stock, I added some frozen prawns, I’d bought some umami, it was on the reduced shelf in Tesco and I’d recently heard of it so I got it, I’m not sure I have an opinion of it yet, and used that as my seasoning.

I also added some turmeric to give it a bit of colour, once the rice had begun to absorb the water I added some frozen hake and haddock fillet I’d diced and cooked it out

When it was done I added the breaded seafood, scampi and two kinds of prawn

fish

and then just to finish it off, some Parmesan shavings and crisped prosciutto

fish risotto

I have to say, it was pretty awesome for leftovers..


The second one was a

Fish biryani:

I suppose it could also have been called a kedgeree

Basic risotto method, seasoned with madras curry powder with the addition of spinach, to which I added frozen diced haddock, hake and prawns

rice1

When that was cooked I put some boiled egg on top

add egg

and served it with mango chutney

with chutney

and popadums

with pops

I enjoyed both of those, as did Mr 5, which is always a relief..

