Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve been chatting to him for several years now and he often gives me recipes that he and his wife cook for their dinner, so this is my version, of his version of an authentic white curry.

I didn’t get off to a very good start with regards to resuming my blog so, I shall try again, this time with two simple curries..

 

Chicken curry bake:

This is simply a chicken breast baked in curry sauce with the addition of some Indian little roasties on the top..

curry bake prep

 

I fried the onions, peppers and spices off

spices

added a little water to make a paste, then using some Crème fraîche made it into a creamy curry sauce..

curry sce

I put some sauce on the bottom of a dish, added the raw chicken breast, a cube of frozen spinach

spinach

Topped it with more sauce and baked it until the chicken was done..

bake

I put the potatoes on the top.

add pots

and served it with a samosa and onion barji..

currybake 1

it was delicious.

White curry:

I got this recipe from the Subash, the man whose till I always go to when I shop in Tesco, I’ve been chatting to him for several years now and he often gives me recipes that he and his wife cook for their dinner, so this is my version, of his version of an authentic white curry.

The original version uses coconut milk or creamed coconut, but he prefers to use yoghurt, I didn’t have any so I used some out of date cream..

I didn’t take a prep picture as I wasn’t sure I was going to be bothered to blog this, basically it’s the same method as above but cooking the potatoes and chicken with the spices, I tried to limit the darker spice colours like cayenne pepper, after all it’s meant to be white, and used white pepper, ground cumin, coriander and panch phoran

wcurrya

I thought it turned out ok considering I made it up as I went along

white curry

I served it with rice and some lentil crackers.

wcurry1

Next time I shall add spinach to it..

wc3