Tags

, , ,

Personally the interior was too fluffy for my preference, I like more of a bite to my potatoes, but nevertheless they were bloody gorgeous,

I bought a piece of pork loin the other day and got it out of the freezer because I thought our friend was coming round for dinner, unfortunately he had to work, so I decided to cut some slices and make pork kievs, an idea I nicked off the Morrisons butcher counter, as I had some boiled potatoes from the night before’s faggots I thought I’d do Hestons roast potatoes.

Heston: “This recipe makes roast potatoes just the way I like them – with a crisp, glass-like crust and a fluffy interior. The key is to cut the potatoes so they have lots of sharp edges then to cook them until they are almost falling apart.”

Pork kievs with Heston potatoes:

pork kiev prep

I took two slices from the loin, made a pocket in each one, but keeping the incision as small as possible, bashed it out a bit and the stuffed each one with garlic butter before shaping it into a round and securing it with a skewer.

roll

then I lightly crumbed it.

lightly crumb

I put it in the oven at the same time as the potatoes, which I roasted in goose fat.

potatoes

Which turned out just as Heston said they would..

heston potatoes

Personally the interior was too fluffy for my preference, I like more of a bite to my potatoes, but nevertheless they were bloody gorgeous, The pork was ready about the same time..

golden brown

I had mine with some twice baked veg..

twice baked veg

and red cabbage, it was bloody nice, I really enjoyed that dinner..